WNC Sports Awards Banquet honors best prep athletes in the mountains

WNC Sports Awards banquet at capacity (WLOS Staff).jpg

ASHEVILLE, NC -- The Omni Grove Park Inn was the site once again for the WNC Sports Awards Banquet on Sunday. A total of 105 athletes from 29 different high schools were recognized for their achievements.

The Mountain Amateur Athletic Club hosted the event and gave out 20 individual and team awards along with ten scholarships worth $1,500 apiece.

The banquet was sold out with 850 people in attendance.

C.J. Thompson from Erwin was the Male Athlete of the Year.

Caroline Marsh from North Henderson was the Female Athlete of the Year.

Carolyn and Ron McKee, former executives of the Asheville Touriets and David Gentry, longtime coach of the Murphy football team, were inducted into the WNC Sports Hall of Fame.

WNC Sports Awards Banquet winners

Award winners for the 56th WNC Sports Awards Banquet presented by Ingles.

Wells Fargo 1A/2A Female Athlete - Major Sport: Alysha Floyd, Hiwassee Dam basketball.

Northwestern Mutual 1A/2A Female Athlete - Olympic Sport: Ralene Kwitakowski, Carolina Day cross country and track.

Homewood Suites 1A/2A Female Team - Major Sport: Carolina Day basketball.

Mills Manufacturing 1A/2A Female Team - Olympic Sport: Brevard cross country.

Merrill Lynch 1A/2A Male Athlete - Major Sport: Tanner Ellenberger, Brevard baseball and football.

White & Williams 1A/2A Male Athlete - Olympic Sport: Noah Graham, Brevard cross country and track.

Skyland Automotive Group 1A/2A Male Team - Major Sport: Murphy football.

Blue Ridge Bone & Joint/EmergeOrtho 1A/2A Male Team - Olympic Sport: Robbinsville wrestling.

Jan and Lary Schulhof 3A/4A Female Athlete - Major Sport: Camryn Jansen, Roberson basketball.

First Citizens Bank 3A/4A Female Athlete - Olympic Sport: Michelle Cobb, Roberson track and Callista Rice, North Buncombe golf.

Home Trust Bank 3A/4A Female Team - Major Sport: Enka softball.

Arcadia Farms, Inc. 3A/4A Female Team - Olympic Sport: Roberson swimming and diving.

Goforth Builders Inc. 3A/4-A Male Athlete - Major Sport: Caleb Ferguson, Tuscola football.

Massasoit of North Carolina, Inc. 3A/4A Male Athlete - Olympic Sport: Noah Shore, Asheville High track.

McKinney Insurance 3A/4A Male Team - Major Sport: Reynolds soccer.

Rodeway Inn and Suites 3A/4A Male Team - Olympic Sport: Enka wrestling.

Blue Ridge X-Ray Female Student Athlete Academic Award: McKinley Morris, Tuscola.

Blossman Gas Male Student Athlete Academic Award: Chris Bang, Enka.

Asheville Citizen-Times Female Athlete of the Year: Caroline Marsh, North Henderson basketball and volleyball.

Darlene and John McNabb Male Athlete of the Year: C.J. Thompson, Erwin basketball and football.

Scholarship winners

Darren Blankenship, Swain County; Teegan Bullock, North Henderson; Caleb Ferguson, Tuscola; Alysha Floyd, Hiwassee Dam; Samantha Fortner, Mitchell; Justin Greene, Mitchell; Callie Rhea, North Buncombe; Sophie Robinson, North Buncombe; Todd Self, Mitchell; LesLeigh Tabor, Franklin.South Atlantic League

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off